Practice listening and speaking English for daily communication – Canadian Universities

Improve your ability to speak English

Canadian Universities

There are about fifty standing-alone, 4-year degree-granting universities in Canada.

Unlike the higher education system in the United States, most of the universities in

Canada are publicly funded institutions although there are a few private institutions.

These public universities are funded and regulated by the province to which they belong. 

In British Colombia there are four publicly funded universities: University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, University of Victoria, and University of Northern British Columbia; and one private university: Trinity Western University. 

In Alberta the three publicly funded universities are University of Alberta, University of Calgary, and University of Lethbridge. 

In Saskatchewan the two publicly funded universities are University of Saskatchewan and University of Regina. 

Moving into Manitoba, there are three publicly funded universities in the province. They are University of Manitoba, University of Winnipeg, and Brandon University. 

Ontario is not only the most populated province in Canada but also has the largest number of universities.

It has 17 publicly funded universities. They are (from west to east and south to north): University of Windsor, University of Western Ontario, University of

Guelph, University of Waterloo, Wilfred Laurier University, McMaster University, Brock University, York University, University of Toronto, Ryerson University, Trent University, Queen's University, University of Ottawa, Carleton University, Laurentian University, Nipissing University, and Lakehead University. 

The Province of Quebec has seven publicly funded universities with many of them having several branch campuses throughout the province.

They are University of Montreal, University of Quebec, Laval University, Concordia University, McGill University, University of Sherbrooke, and Bishop's University.

While French is the official language of instruction at most of these institutions, English is the official one at both Concordia University and McGill University. 

Canada's Atlantic Provinces have the rest of the fifty universities in Canada.

They are University of New Brunswick and University of Moncton in the Province of New Brunswick; Acadia University, Dalhousie University, Mount Allison University, Mount Saint Vincent University, Saint Mary's University, and Nova Scotia Agricultural College in the Province of Nova Scotia; University of Prince Edward Island in the Province of Prince Edward Island; and University of Newfoundland in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Advanced English Vocabulary - One Minute Videos on YouTube

Proceed to the list of Advanced English Vocabulary.